UCCONNECT Student of the Year Award

UCCONNECT Student of the year

UCCONNECT annually accepts applications for its “outstanding graduate student”, a program jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC).

Eligibility is limited to graduate students within the UCCONNECT consortium (UCB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, UCSB, and Cal Poly Pomona) who: (i) are US citizens or permanent residents; (ii) are engaged in the study of surface transport; (iii) have previously received financial support from UCTC or UCCONNECT; and (iv) have been enrolled as full-time students for at least part of the relevant calendar year.

The award includes (i) an invitation to a special ceremony hosted in Washington D.C. as part of the TRB Annual Meeting; (ii) $1,000 along with the registration, travel and lodging costs to attend the Annual Meeting; (iii) two complementary registrations to the CUTC Banquet; and (iv) a certificate from USDOT.

Students need to submit the following material to their UCCONNECT representatives on campus (Dan Chatman, UC Berkeley; Stephen Ritchie, UC Irvine; Brian Taylor, UCLA; Matthew Barth, UC Riverside; Kostas Goulias, UC Santa Barbara; Xudong Jia, Cal Poly Pomona) in order to be nominated within their campuses:

  • nominee bio-statement,

  • nominee resume,

  • nominee work sample,

  • nominee academic transcript.


2015 - 16: Kelcie Ralph (UCCONNECT) & Andre Carrel (UCTC)

2014 - 15: Sebastián Guerrero, PhD