2015-16 Student of the Year

UCCONNECT and UCTC are pleased to announce the selection of their 2015-16 Outstanding Students of the Year. Due to the exceptional quality of this year's candidates, each center made a separate award.

UCCONNECT outstanding Student of the Year: Kelcie Ralph

Kelcie's bio:

Kelcie Ralph is an Assistant Professor at the Alan M. Voorhees Transportation Center at Rutgers University. Dr. Ralph earned her PhD. at the University of California, Los Angeles. For her thesis, Dr. Ralph examined the causes and the consequences of the decline in driving among young people in the United States, which was selected for the Barclay Gibbs Jones Award for best dissertation in Planning in 2015. Kelcie earned a Bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Alaska, Anchorage and was selected as a Marshall Scholar in 2009. As a Marshall Scholar, Kelcie earned a Master’s degree at Cambridge University in Environmental Policy and a Master’s of Science at the London School of Economics in City Design and Social Science. Dr. Ralph’s current research employs experimental and quasi-experimental research designs to explore the efficacy of travel behavioral change programs.

UCTC Outstanding student of the year: Andre carrel

Andre's bio:

Andre Carrel is a postdoctoral associate at the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics. His current research at the CTL is focused on the use of large-scale data sets to improve supply chain operations in retail. Previously, he obtained his Ph.D. in transportation from the University of California at Berkeley, under the supervision of Profs. Joan Walker and Raja Sengupta. He was the lead researcher conducting the San Francisco Travel Quality study, a large-scale, smartphone based study with 840 participants in which the link between service quality on public transportation, rider satisfaction and ridership retention was investigated. A graduate of MIT and ETH Zurich, Andre has previously worked with Transport for London and Deutsche Bahn, the German national rail operator, and has been an Eisenhower, UPS foundation and Eno Leadership fellow.